fiend

By fiend

Yesterday, we arrived in Tobermory late afternoon (and left straight for the farm soon after) so we didn't really get a chance to have a look around and appreciate how lovely it is.
With it being November, there are very few tourists around so I'm sure it gets overrun in the summer months expecially as this was the location for Balamory - one of the bean's favourite shows on cbeebies. I called her last night to tell her I was here and she was quite puzzled about how I could actually be in Balamory. I tried to get her to sing me the theme song but she couldn't remember so I'm stuck with the one line I know going round and round in my head
"What's the story, Balamory, wouldn't you like to know?" and that's it!
Our cheap and smelly guethouse was a tad chilly this morning and considering my bed has a paper thin mattress and I daren't put a foot down on the skeggy carpet without wearing shoes, I had the best night's sleep in a long time.

We got up early, bought some goodies from the wonderful local bakery/deli for breakfast and lunch and headed to Calgary Bay for a long walk along the headland. We could have walked for so much longer but we only managed a few miles before the rain set in for good. It was such a beautiful and invigorating walk though. Not for the first time this week, I felt like I could burst from an overload of the senses and I couldn't wipe a big happy grin from my mush (until we got soaked from the rain!!)

The rain didn't stop for the rest of the day and given the dinner choices of a crappy pub or the local chippy van and eating in the room, we were feeling a bit flat but a stroke of inspiration led us to the local posh hotel and a hearty feast with plenty of wine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.