MarkMiller

By MarkMiller

Day 64: In Remembrance of...

This morning my wife and I attended the funeral for my sister's father-in-law Sam. Sam was a wonderful man who will be missed by everyone who ever knew him.

In the afternoon we attended the wake of our friend Laura's mother Joan. Joan was a wonderful woman who will be missed by everyone who ever knew her.

Leaving the house this morning to attend these services, photography was the last thing on my mind. But there is always a camera in my pocket and today was no different. And I am happy that I did have that camera with me.

When seeing this image today I thought it to be a fitting picture of the day as a remembrance of those who are no longer with us. Not only for Sam and Joan, but for all our loved ones who have gone before us.

This beautiful two story tall mosaic of Pope John Paul II and Our Lady of the Rosary is made from what must be thousands of fingertip size tiles. It is located in the Our Lady of the Rosary Chapel, which can be found inside the Chapel Mausoleum at Gate of Heaven Cemetery in East Hanover, NJ. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.