Bridge over the River Frome

My friend Amanda has an exhibition in Bruton, which features her latest work. She's done some amazing collagraph prints of Cornish harbours, and she's invited me to her studio so that she can teach me how to do them. I'd like to make prints of some of Frome's wonderful buildings, so I've been looking out for places with strong shapes. The town bridge, seen here from the back, is on my list of possibilities. I've boosted the contrast to make the shapes stand out more.

There are only four bridges in the world with shops on both sides. This bridge isn't one of them as it only has shops on one side (but that's still fairly unusual). The original bridge was built in the 14th century, rebuilt in the 16th century and then widened in the 18th century, at which time houses were built on it. The section in the middle, behind the brick wall, has been a restaurant for years (it's currently an Indian restaurant but used to be an Italian one) and the blue building next to it was a bakery for even longer, then a bakery & cafe, but is currently empty.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.