Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Hungry, like the wolf?

Today was the kind of day that the word 'dreich' was invented for: grey, low cloud, poor visibility, steady, persistent drizzle, and the rest. Not a day for going out and certainly not for going out walking. So I didn't.

Had to be in Stirling this morning and, while I was in the city centre, looked up and around at the various carvings in the building known as the Wolfcraig Building, only some of which I recall seeing before. (It pays to look around, rather than dash from place to place, sometimes!) An internet search when I got home, having taken this picture, revealed that the wolf has an ancient mythological connection with Stirling.

Anyway, the idea of a wolf atop a building now used as a restaurant brought the simile (or maybe it was the Duran Duran record!) to mind. I blame the rain. Need to get out more!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.