Paris Day 1

When I was 8 or 9, can’t remember for sure, I received a present from my Great Aunt Nina in Glasgow. It was a small, red, ring bound book, about 2in square, and in it were little colour pictures of the wonderful buildings in Paris. The ones I remember from it vividly were the Arc de Triumphe, Eiffel Tower and the Sacre Coeur. I used to look at them often and hope that one day I would go to Paris and see them for myself.

Well it took many decades before my wish to visit Paris happened, and here I am. We arrived at our hotel late afternoon after an easy flight into CDG. Short walk then down the escalator and onto a waiting RER train and 30 minutes later we were at our hotel in the Latin Quarter. Small and quirky rooms in an area where you are spoilt for choice for cafes, restaurants and little shops and just a short walk to the Seine and the magnificent Notre Dame, all lit up in all its splendour!

Walked up an appetite and after deliberating we stopped in this place...... First delicious meal of the holidays :-)

Remembering Dad - he would have celebrated his 87th birthday today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.