trekmum

By trekmum

World book day

A wee selection from my bookshelves. I read a lot of books and I'm pleased to say it is a family trait. I also listen to 'talking' books (as I call them) on a daily basis,when I am in the car or out for a run.
At the moment I am listening to 'Judas Unchained' , which is the second book in Peter F. Hamilton's Commonwealth Saga , a fantastic sci-fi trilogy. My somewhat strange bedside reading at the moment is 'Periodic Tales', a popular science book.
i do not hoard books - there are some, which once read, will be sent onwards to a new home via a charity shop. Others I will keep forever - one such has been 'Ender's Game ' by Orson Scott Card - I have the original and kept it for my son and daughter to read, long before anyone thought of turning it into a film. It was a good decision - one of the sequels, 'Speaker for the Dead' counts among my son's favourite books and my daughter avidly reads each new publication.
Books may not be for life, but reading certainly is.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.