Rodents rule

By squirk

Mowing the lawn

The first mowing of the lawn this year. Willow took the lead with Mr Kipling and Panda close at her hind paws. Omar was awake, but not yet active. Being solar powered is hard work in spring. Meanwhile, Whisky was chasing everything he could lay his paws on. He's bringing in a mouse every couple of nights. This involves me crawling about the floor in my pyjamas trying to entice the tiny, terrified rodent into a kitchen roll tube that's blocked at one end by a coaster. Every time I lose track of the mouse, I have to wait until the cat locates it again and quickly swing the tube-coaster escape pod into action. I managed to catch the mouse last night after about 40 minutes of scrabbling under the bed. Whisky then scrabbled for an extra 20 minutes, convinced it was still in a drawer - I'd popped the poor mouse out the cat flap while the cat wasn't looking.

Back to daylight shenanigans... While cleaning the winter ecology from the guinea pig hutch, I found a rose chafer in some hay. I thought it might be dead, but after taking this photo, it disappeared. I found it under a plant pot. For some, the hibernation period isn't over.

The big news of the day is that my teeth are all fine for another six months. Thank goodness for that. I've mentioned it before and I'll say it again - I loathe going to the dentist (even though he's wonderfully handsome - blue-eyed, dark-haired and Spanish). I celebrated the all-clear with a late breakfast of cake and coffee.

Tomorrow I'm off to Liverpool to dance with the Diamond Jivers. Whoop!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.