croftercampbell

By croftercampbell

Hola los pescalors¡

When I called into Ullapool Laundry they were tusselling with 25 bags of dirty washing from a Spanish boat. Meanwhile down at the pier I met the bag owners - enjoying the sunshine during a well-earned break and presumably looking forward to clean clothes.

Forgive my Spanish - I was given a very brief lesson when I asked if it was Pescador or Pescalor or something completely different - and was told that really one should add "...who goes out to sea in a boat" to avoid confusion with anglers.

My informant was from Mallorca - and (I think) usually speaksCatalan or Mallorquin as well as very fluent English. The crew turned out to be quite a mixture - and the boat said Port of Ayr but was registerd in Fleetwood. But somehow we muddled along. That's the thing about Ports - there is always an interesting mix of people from all over the world coming and going.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.