day out

An old friend offered me one of his tickets for today's Scotland v France rugby international.

We've known each other since we were 11, and played rugby in the same team as teenagers.

All I had to do was buy him a boozy lunch in exchange. I'm quite adept with boozy lunches, and hadn't been to a rugby international for 14 years. So, off we went.

Lunch was excellent - Café Marlayne in Antigua Street. The rugby was good too - just a shame Scotland lost in the last minute.

Not sure if I'll do it again (the rugby that is - boozy lunches are here to stay). I was reminded of quite a few of the reasons why I stopped going.

For some reason the pitch was covered with folk in military uniforms just before kick off. They also fired a field gun down on the pitch. Very odd.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.