rodders

By rodders

Sun: 9th March 2014: 09:35

This morning's Sun, photographed through the Sony a-290 and the Minolta 70-300mm zoom lens (I still can't get the Canon to produce acceptable results!) at 300mm, 1/4000s at f/5.6 and ISO100. A small group of sunspots in the right upper limb and a single on the equator.
This was the result of an experiment to try and lay a ghost that has been bugging me for a couple of days! I took 42 images - 18 with a Baader Solar Filter sandwiched between two 2 UV filters and 24 with a home-made "Wine Bottle Carrier" Baader Solar Filter (the last couple of days all my solar imagery has been be-devilled with an after-image, despite using an image stabiliser, and I was thinking that the light striking the Solar Filter was being refracted off the back face of the UV filter and thus re-entering the lens "out-of-phase"), the result - 42 usable images - so I guess that it was all down to me and my posture, possibly snatching the shutter instead of operating it cleanly!
I used to have the same trouble when I tensed up on the rifle range, I would start pulling left and high (I'm a left-hander) after a period of time, particularly if I was trying too hard!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.