bevhumphrey

By bevhumphrey

A day in The Dales.

This morning was a glorious crisp sunny spring Sunday, and I was having tea and crumpets in my pj's and fleece in the front garden by 7.30.
Packed a picnic and donned walking boots, bundled Alf into car and we were in the Yorkshire Dales by 10.00. Unfortunately the weather did not live up to expectations and the sky flattened and became very dull for most of the day....so this is one of the earliest shots walking between Austwick to Feizor. These are two of the many little villages hidden away off the A65 which I usually just speed past as I drive from my home in Lancashire up to the Lakes in Cumbria. Had a day exploring a few of them and the dales between today and it was incredibly pretty, quiet and relaxing. Had a sausage barmcake and flask of Bovril by the river, but then managed to slip whilst messing about with Alf on some stepping stones. Didn't think I'd hurt myself til I came to drive home and realised that looking to the right was quite difficult. By the time I'd driven the hour and a half home I knew I'd hurt myself. Neck and arm pretty painful, so need to post this and get in a deep bath with some wine and ibufrofen! I liked the fact that the slate roof of the little building seemed to have the same purple tones as the trees on the hillside behind....and just the shape of the stone walls around it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.