jojobunny

By jojobunny

Boon Island Light

I got my ocean fix today! The sun was out and the temps were in the 30's. I guess by this winter's standards, that's beach weather!
Really a beautiful day in Maine. I took some great shots of the surf. The tide was coming in and there were some big waves, glistening against the sky, as they crashed upon the rocks. That's what I love about the Maine coast, the rocky shore.
I was at Cape Neddick Lighthouse (Nubble Light), taking photos. I was taking a shot of the breaking waves when I noticed Boon Island Light in the distance. All the years I have gone there, I never really looked at it. Maybe because it was so clear today, I was able to capture it in the photo.
Boon Island Light is 6 miles off the Maine coast from the town of York. According to info I read, on December 11, 1710, the British ship, Nottingham Galley was wrecked off Boon Island and the survivors struggled to survive there. It seems that the history of this place has had much misfortune over the years and now some consider this small island "haunted"!
As well as breathing that great sea air, and taking some great photos, I got a little history lesson!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.