hpx

By hpx

Wind no2: streaming hair

Thanks to my friend and colleague yellow (and sometimes blipper) for helping me with this blip. (My hair is too short to give a nor-nor'easterly demonstration like this ;-)

Today was a typical spring/summer Canterbury day with a lively nor'easterly. Surprisingly it was quite warm which promises it will swing to the nor'west.

Wind from the east through to the nor-nor'east is the predominant wind from early spring to late summer. Head inland and there is a definite point where the (mostly) cold/cool wind off the sea doesn't reach and the dominate wind is from the west - nor'west.

In another life I used to help track the dominance of the nor'easterly versus the nor'west pushing over the mountains and across the plains. Often the easterly quarter wind undercuts the west-nor'westerly. Some days we can look up and see the lower level clouds scuttling inland on a nor'easterly, whereas upper level clouds are heading in the opposite direction pushed along by a nor'westerly. Check Cabbagetrees Cottage's comment on my yesterday's blip for an insight into wind across the Canterbury Plains.

Today's nor'easterly was up early, in time to swing and buffet as I biked to work. I seemed to encounter it head-on or at 45 degrees when it should have been at my back. I mostly peddled into it coming home. Now in the evening it's slowly dropping.

Tomorrow the nor'west is forecast to blow like a banshee. Wonder how I'll photograph that? ;-)

Thanks for your interest and comments on this project. I'm enjoying the first two days and looking forward to the challenge of the rest of the week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.