A La David Bailey

Okay, so David Bailey didn't take many portraits of donkeys but .....

The morning started with beautiful sunlight as the mist lifted. A good morning to cycle to the horses. I did see them but they were just so far away. I did however, spot the donkeys in the field at the other side of the road. They were not as lively as usual. They looked as though they had endured a very wet night and just wanted to stand in the warmth of the sunshine to dry their coats.

I did take some photos and although I had some lovely colour shots I was repeatedly drawn back to this one. It reminded me of the portraits we had seen at the David Bailey Stardust Exhibition at the National Portrait Gallery on our visit to London last month. White background and often with half of the face in shade. If only my photos were half as good as his.

Go large for the Stardust effect

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.