Hot Gelato

I have been made privy to a very special moment today. I walked into Ermanno's kitchen just as he was bringing tonight's ice cream to a boil.

Yes, that is right. See, this ice cream is made like it once was... with only the freshest cream, eggs and sugar. The vanilla sprig was added immediately after pouring and then put aside to cool. Tonight the ice cream will have been properly frozen and mixed to a sublime creaminess... maybe with some fresh strawberries on top... or some aged balsamic vinegar mixed in. Yes, that is right. Balsamic vinegar and ice cream is WONDERFUL! Not the store crap, but the real thing aged maybe 18-30 years. Sometimes with a few drops of really old stuff drizzled on top for extra flavor and medicinal properties. Yes, I believe that last statement. :) Good for a lot of things that ale you... including your humour. :)

Ermanno made a summer apprenticeship from the best gelataio in Reggio Emilia when he was 14 years old. Every morning on the bicycle 20 km's down and every evening 20 km's back up. Other than fresh ingredients, the secret is pulling it off the burner at the exact moment. Lastly, no heavy flavors.... just cream, Hazel nut and chocolate. Or in this area of the world, also with balsamic vinegar.

I joined some work colleagues today for a bike ride. Shew! These guys are really strong and go out all the time. They were very nice and kept the pace down for me. A good 22 km's in the hills around Viano which I have blipped several times. I brought the camera with me today, but there were no breaks and I didn't want to get left behind. So, I just have a picture of the bicycle in front of the car after the fact. haha

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.