Note to self - keep smiling :-)

I had a very tranquil and restful time in St Andrew's Cathedral garden at lunchtime today, doing a few sketches and enjoying the fresh air. Had I known what was in store this evening I might have been a bit less laid back!

Tonight was the night. Audition night for the opening and closing ceremonies of the Glasgow 2014 Commonwealth Games. And guess what! I was able to share it with Scottie5 who was right behind me as I walked through the doors. Neither of us had a clue the other would be there but both of us were delighted the other was.

There was a bit of waiting, a bit of greeting, a bit of acting (I don't think I imagined Scottie5 pretending to be Queen Vic, while perching side saddle on my back, as I did my best horsey impression on all fours, though it does have a dream-like/hallucinatory feel about it). Then there was a bit of dancing.

This was my undoing. I know, with every fibre of my being, that I was absolutely the worst dancer in the entire room. Completely and utterly hopeless. Scottie5's natural rhythm came through and she did fab. They say you don't miss what you've never had but I did kinda miss having a bit of rhythm and being able to move beyond the 'Right guys, bounce your knees!' stage.

Not to worry. It was a great laugh. I thoroughly enjoyed it and it ticks the box for my 'Do stuff I've never done before' new year's resolution :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.