Contemplation

“My people are going to learn the principles of democracy the dictates of truth and the teachings of science. Superstition must go. Let them worship as they will, every man can follow his own conscience provided it does not interfere with sane reason or bid him act against the liberty of his fellow men.”
― Mustafa Kemal Atatürk


Extreme violence in Istanbul tonight as riot police clash with those who demonstrate their wrath and frustration at the death today of the young teenager who has been in a coma since June 1st when struck in the head by a police fired tear gas canister as he walked to the store to buy bread. Hurriyet News

Today I grow accustomed to the idea of moving to a different apartment, the good and the bad of it - but I cannot write about my small troubles such as thinking about where I will put some of my stuff, or even the pleasant moments of deciding where I will put some of my stuff, both seeming so unimportant and inconsequential when set against the backdrop of events in the streets of Istanbul tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.