A clue

Guess where my work meeting was today? Well okay, it's a pretty big clue.

Each year for the Hokitika Wild Foods Festival a local builds a "Hokitika" sign on the beach out of driftwood. The festival was last weekend and I was fortunate enough today to find the sign still standing AND to have my work meeting in the hotel that backs directly onto the beach where the sign is, so I got to duck out at lunchtime and take a photo.

You'll note that I deliberately chose the thumbnail crop that looked like my name! And spot the seagull on the top of the H.

Blipping is a funny thing. Some days there are ample photography opportunities and other days there are slim pickings.

Yesterday was a slim pickings day - hence the last minute blip of the green-eyed Tim. Today at breakfast time Mum and Dad's visiting wekas showed up. They come demanding breakfast and I had the opportunity to photograph the female being hand fed. She would take the food from Mum's hand then dash off up the section with it to feed her babies, then come back for more.

See the weka being hand fed here.

Then I photographed the Hokitika sign, then when I called back in at Mum and Dad's they showed me their swan plant - it is absolutely covered in big fat caterpillars and chrysalis' - so more photos were taken. The final blip wasn't an easy choice so I went with the one I'm least likely to have the opportunity to photograph again.

The past 24 hours hasn't been easy. The last time I recall being at Mum and Dad's I was there with Blaze. It kept hitting me that he'll never be there visiting his grandparents again.

Somehow it doesn't get better, even after more than 4 months.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.