elmosmoe

By elmosmoe

Pho

In London again. Fourth work trip in 6 weeks.

Went to Pho, a chain of apparently authentic Vietnamese restaurants. Went to the Soho branch and to be honest, I was pretty disappointed.

I ordered the the rice paper prawn rolls and Pho with thinly sliced beef and iced Vietnamese coffee. The rolls were okay but came with a generic fried Vietnamese spring roll sauce instead of the peanut sauce it should come with. And it had noodles in it instead of vermicelli. Then the pho came. It looked good hut the soup was pretty bland, especially since they big up the fact that it takes on average 12 hours to make the soup stock. And the beef was really pathetically cut, not thin at all.

Then there was the drink. Unlike the food where I've had the genuine versions in Vietnam, I didn't have iced coffee when I was there. But as Malaysia next door had the same kind of drink (iced coffee with condensed milk), I assumed it would be something similar. What I got pretty much tasted like instant coffee. To be fair, that could be what it is meant to taste like but I'm not so sure.

So rather disappointing after all. I should stick with my usual roast duck rice when I come to London.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.