granpabear

By granpabear

IT'S THE BEAVER STATE

So, we lived with this huge cottonwood tree for years. It caused a lot of big messes but I didn't mind because I loved the tree, even though it was on the neighbor's property. Last July a large heavy branch came down and crushed our lawn chairs. Chairs the grandkids were sitting in an hour before! In September another one just missed our kitchen. So I got some quotes on cutting it down, and went to see the owner. She has always been real tight with her money, so I didn't think that I would get very far. But after some time she agreed to pay for bring it down, but not for hauling it away.
Cottonwood makes terrible firewood, but since it's there, I have been cutting it up a little at a time. The beavers have been working on the other end of the pile! They work at night and no one knows they are there. Most people don't know that we have beaver.
I'd love to get a shot of them, but that would be tough!
You can see where they slide up and down the bank.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.