Fibreandfotos

By Fibreandfotos

First Quilt

Many years ago, my friend Jeannette showed me some of her quilts. Pattern, color, texture, and other qualities of her hand stitched work inspired me to learn the art of quilting. At first I was content to visit fabric shops, fondle the fabric on the bolts, and browse through books and magazines at the patterns. I finally decided to jump in and start one of the projects. I remember making templates from cardboard, tracing around the edges with a pencil, and cutting fabric patches with scissors. This colors in this small wall piece, which hangs above our bed, were chosen to coordinate with curtains from two houses ago. Much faded from the sun and with fabrics dated by the passage of time, I still love this quilt. All made by hand, just like my friend Jeannette.

This is an "emergency blip", which I see on occasion as I browse through other journals. At the end of the day when no photograph has been taken, I can resort to my quilts.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.