LA9 to CA95010 and back..

By LA9toCA95010

Race day

We turned the clocks forward last night, so an hour less in bed AND I had to get up early to go run a 10k race.

It was my first race since last July, and a re-run of my first race of last year, when I resolved to try and get back to my previous 10k time (which turned out to be twenty years ago, so...yeah...unlikely).

So there was lot riding on this - what if I was SLOWER?!

And then I turned up to find my running mates had numbers 101 and 102 to my 103. But also that they had decided to opt out of the 10k race and do the 5k instead. Wait...what? Am I possibly the ONLY person doing the 10k? It's bad enough with all the inner-talking in my head as it is, without having the entire race-organisation, and the whole 5k field of entries watch me plod slowly around the second lap, waiting for me to finish so they can go home.

But no...luckily there was a full field of 10k runners.

And I was faster than last time. Hooray.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.