Cab!

On Friday night, I had tentatively made chilli on the woodstove in the firetruck. This morning, less than forty-eight hours later, we'd progressed to the point where the Minx managed to make us a full English, despite a restricted cooking area.

Prior to that, we'd made coffee, which had involved dressing, chopping wood, getting the fire going, and then waiting for the espresso pot. But, by cracky, it was amazing by the time it was ready and mixed with some milk, also heated on the stove.

After breakfast, we started to get ready, somewhat reluctantly, but we had a long drive south - back to The North! - and it was Charlie's 23rd birthday, today, so I needed to be back early evening. After taking the first load of bags to the car, I walked back to the firetruck, and it suddenly occurred to me that we should have had a picture of us in the front but I'd already packed the SLR (which has a remote).

But then I wondered whether my 'daily' camera had a timer, so I checked and it did! Thus, after a quick bit of experimentation, I coerced the Minx into the cab, balanced the camera on my scarf and then had ten seconds to get into the cab before the picture was taken. This was the second effort!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.