Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

Stepping Stones

I spent the day in the Surrey Hills, starting at Newlands Corner for a picnic lunch, before moving onto Box Hill. I followed the "2 mile, 1 1/2 hour" Stepping Stones Walk, which starts at the top of the hill and takes you down 275 steps to the bottom and the River Mole. There you have the choice of crossing by the stepping stones or wandering 50 yards up steam to a footbridge - I went for the safe option!

After a pause to catch my breath take some photos, I continued on my way for a much welcome ice cream in the lower car park cafe, before heading back up the hill. As I puffed and panted my way up I marvelled that this was a popular trip for Victorian and Edwardian visitors - they were clearly much fitter than I, or perhaps they weren't carrying a heavy rucksack of camera stuff plus tripod!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.