The Philosopher's Wife

By philosophywife

Star of Wonder

As a mini Blip Challenge to myself, I decided to try to do a "Christmasy" photo every day until the 25th.

For a start I thought our Christmas star was appropriate.

It's kind of ugly, right? Yeah, it's red and white plastic. Not exactly awe-inspiring.

HOWEVER, it has huge sentimental value.

My Grandparents purchased it in 1947, for their first Christmas as a married couple. They used it until their youngest daughter, my Mom, married my Dad in 1977. We had it throughout my childhood and then it was given to me for my first Christmas with my husband in 2003.

Within the last year or two I had it rewired (it still had the original 1940s cord wrapped in PAPER) and we changed out the somewhat garish (sorry Mom!) red light bulb for a clear one. But it's still a piece of family history and I absolutely love it!

It's a special family heirloom - I'll bet my Grandparents never imagined that it would still be in use 60 years after its purchase!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.