Explore, Dream, Discover

By Snowcycle

On the road to Broughton - Snowy Broad Law

Taken on this morning's bike ride to Broughton in the Scottish Borders.

A snow covered Broad Law, summit 840m, 2756ft, above sea level. It is the second highest hill in the Southern Uplands. It stands out not only because of altitude, or the radio mast on the left of the summit, view large, but for the VOR beacon, wikipedia, the object that looks like the top of a ski lift. These are used, or use to be used, for aircraft navigation before GPS became prevalent, and are slowly being phased out.

My GPS says I cycled 90.1 km this morning, and I climbed 750m in total. 90m short. The OS map shows a track to the top, but I'm not sure my road bike would survive the climb to the top of Broad Law.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.