out of the shadows

By MrsHart3

Tea for.....?

A very special person brought this for me from a faraway place.

I like the way the little cups nestle round the teapot, waiting to be filled with warmth and comfort.

I looked at it this morning and it reminded me of my mum. Her answer to any of life's crises, from the chimney catching fire, to my boyfriend troubles was to make a cup of tea.
I remember her, on the day the chimney really did catch fire, rushing around with cups of tea for all the firemen ( I know you're supposed to call them firefighters now, but in those days they actually were all men! ) and I remember her late at night, drying my tears and telling me about all the other pebbles on the beach that were just waiting for me to find them.

It was a comforting ritual.....once mum put the kettle on, you knew things were going to be ok.

I wish she was here now to put the kettle on for me

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.