schlimm

By schlimm

Family treasures

A long time ago, two years to be precise, a cousin of mine handed me this envelope. It is filled with letters written mainly by my grandmother and grandfather to their cousins. Some of the letters describe my mother and aunt as babies, then there are letters written by my mother when she was a child and later letters from her when she was studying in London. It is fascinating to glimpse parts of their life long before me. I just read a few but will soon sit down and read them all chronologically. I will then photocopy the letters that relate more to my cousins as they were of course their grandparents too.

With email and all the other ways of communication nowadays I wonder if my children will be able to catch interesting glimpses like these one day.

The blip is of my grandfather and me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.