Life with K.C.

By KC

Energy....

I watched Bang Goes the Theory on TV the other night & it was called The Human Power Station. They had a human powerstation powered by cyclists showing how many cyclists they needed pedalling to provide enough energy for a household for the day.

I found it very interesting & thought provoking. They were saying how boiling a full kettle used alot of energy (can't remember how many cyclists) so I thought I'd do my own experiment. The first photo shows what energy our house was using at that time (Mr KC was ironing and we have tv on living room & lights on). It shows the cost per hour in pence. I then turned on the small tv in the kitchen & boiled a full cold kettle & that's when it shot up. This Blip is of an Energy Monitor that Mr KC installed.

I don't drink hot drinks so there's no guilt from that but it did make me boil water for spaghetti tonight on the hob with cold water whereas normally I put boiling water from the kettle in it....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.