Getting the sparkle back

By DomesticGoddess

Curious swan

Today was a sad day in many ways - a member of my walking group had died very suddenly last Monday of a heart attack while out cycling with some other members. He was very fit and had no history of heart disease. It was his funeral today and I learned more about the man I had known for around twenty years, but it all confirmed the man I had known - a man of huge energy and enthusiasm who was always cheerful and never put out by anything. It was a humanist service and truly a celebration of his life. He is a great loss to our group - and to everyone who knew him.

I stopped off at Duddingston Loch on my way back from the reception and met this swan who came to have a look at me. She (not sure about this, but reckon it's probably a she) came much closer than this - to within a few inches. Swans are surprisingly tall! I stayed very still - I know that it's wise to be respectful towards swans. Swans are hugely graceful when they are swimming, but they can't help but be a touch comical out of water.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.