granpabear

By granpabear

OUR HOUSE

Rainy, gray, blah day today.
So, here goes on a new journey. Having played around here for a couple of months, I like the idea of this as a journal. I never liked journaling myself, but this really helps. Take a picture of today and talk about it, easy. But it affords you to talk about the past. Stories the picture reminds you of. I don't like living in the past, but I do like telling stories from my past. I have been told that I should preserve my stories for the grandkids. I have very little from my parents. None from my grandparents.
So, I think that that's where I want to go with this.
I did the bathroom sink the other day. I liked it. See, I built this house and there are a ton of stories here. But, I guess that I feel a little funny about showing all of you what I did. I don't want to come off as a braggart or prideful. So if you think that I am, tune me out. OK? This is for the kids!
I am starting at the front door. The doors came from our old neighbor, Jim Hunt.
They were free. He was a scrounge, like me! The door handles are pieces of Cedar roots. The rosettes in the door trim are chunks of Port Orford Cedar, that I got for cutting the dead trees down from a lady in Evan's Valley. On the left stands the nature table (I call it an alter). Most of the pieces for this came from the beach. One in particular looks like cactus wood. I don't know how it got in the ocean! The top is fiddle back Maple. Also from the ocean.
There are now, on the table, fossils, rocks, sea shells,bird nests, feathers, a conch, and on the stick in the corner the wasp nest. It was cut off a Maple at the reservoir. It's a little beat up now......kids!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.