IreneSmith

By IrenesWorld

Finishing!

Today was the big day! I ran my first half marathon! I was completely focusing ONLY on finishing - not on time whatsoever. I think the thought of running 13.1 miles was so intimidating that I didn't want to think about anything other than finishing and not feeling like death by the end.

And I did just that! My time was 2.32 - fairly slow, but I didn't walk other than at mile 12 when I stopped for a minute to shake out my legs. And I felt pretty good afterwards!

However, now that I have accomplished the distance, I am now completely going to focus on improving my time! There is another local 1/2 marathon in 9 weeks so I will take off a week and then get back to training. Although this time I will be incorporating speed work and tempo runs and try to finish the race at somewhat more in the middle of the pack. After being a runner for 25 years and after training twice for a half marathon, I just feel like I should have had a better showing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.