Bits and Bobs!

By Kate64

Disappointment!

The plan was set: bus timetables researched, sightseeing planned, lovely old tea room found for lunch. Chef was going to drop me off in Royal Wootton Bassett in Wiltshire on his way to Heathrow, I was then going to spend some time there before heading home on the bus (3 hours and 2 changes!).

Felt fine when I got up, but very quickly the ME wall came up and hit me in the face, and that was the end of my plan! The most frustrating element of ME is that it is so unpredictable, it makes it so difficult to plan ahead. And so frustrating when you do have plans that then have to be cancelled!

Before he left, Chef found a box full of childhood memorabilia, including this newspaper photo from 1978 of his Cubs' football team coming as runners-up in the Wansdyke District Cub Scouts' Football Cup Final. We had a right old giggle about the helmet hairstyles (Chef is second from the right in the front row).

I've entertained myself for the rest of the day, perusing this 36 year old newspaper. The prices in the adverts are unbelievable! Think I shall save this paper for when I'm in need of a blip on a quiet day, it's an entertaining read and shows how times have changed so much in a comparatively short period of time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.