Of tulips and snails.......

My Daughter Robyn gave me these beautiful tulips yesterday as part of my Mother's day present and as such I thought they would make a perfect background to show off this tiny Banded snail Cepaea hortensis I found lurking in my neighbour's garden this afternoon.
Banded snails are common throughout the UK (except north Scotland) and are active between March and October.
I often find them in my garden, but as I don't grow vulnerable plants they really don't bother me, and following this photo shoot I let this little beauty go again by my pond.
I now have 5 hatched Emperor moths, (2males 3 females ) so watch this space for blips. I will release them soon, and maybe take a female to the woods with me to see if she can attract any unrelated males!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.