Achnamara Wanderer

By chrystine51

a visit to Ashfield School

in the village of my youth- in theory to talk to the pupils about the history of the village. Most of the kids were not very interested but the grownups had a great time chatting.
The still have the original roll book- my father, James Livingston, features as entry number 209 in 1924 (only 209 entrants in a school that had been open for at least 80 years), and his sister, my Aunt Peggy, (Margaret Livingston) is a few lines above. My siblings and I and lots of cousins feature a few pages later followed by my nephews some time later.
A great document- not that my family are all that important but it gives details of who lived on all the farms for the 100 years or so before the village was built.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.