St George The Great Martyr

I went down into Leicester this evening for a special screening of the Hammer film The Devil Rides Out at the Phoenix cinema. It was the first film in a short season of films adapted from books. It was introduced by Jonathan Rigby, a film critic and an author of books on horror films.

I really like Hammer Horror films, and I can remember watching them when I was young, strangely I'm not that fussed about the modern slasher/horror films. This particular film is a bit different as Christopher Lee is in it, but this time he is on the 'light' side rather than playing the villain.

Near the cinema is this Church, St George The Great Martyr, which is a Serbian Orthodox Church, and I've it thought it would make a good blip subject, and this evening it seemed a bit more atmospheric with some of the 'smog' swirling around, and it seemed fit as I was going to see a Hammer Horror Film. Also on the way I passed a charity shop which had a life sized Egyptian Sarcophagus in the window, yours for £875, and I thought it seemed apt for an evening of watching Hammer Horror.

In a quote from Charles Gray in the film, 'I shan't be returning....but something will'

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.