Helper

4years 167days

I got up quite early this morning as I had not yet made a birthday present for a party that she was going to this afternoon, on account of the whole her being poorly thing. She woke up as I was finishing cutting the pieces and came to help with a bit of it before getting herself sorted for ballet. We set out for class and arrived in good time. To a scene of chaos. Someone had put a giant D lock bike lock on the ballet school gates. I ended up climbing the 6" Iron fence and a whole trail of amusing events which Katie apparently retold as "The MOST very dangerous thing EVER". The children thought it quite the adventure to have to go through a gate that was through a back garden of the pub, with an overgrown garden to go through at the end. It was eventually dealt with, thanks to 3 very long extension cables, several men, an axe, an angle grinder. Bizarre what can be pulled together at no notice. The staff and I have concerns its related to our reporting of the stolen bike to the police. So we will see. Its a very odd coincidence if not.

Anyway, she got up to class and dancing, all delayed by only 15minutes, while we were finishing off all the sorting out! We headed to the train with just enough time for sweetcorn and got home in time to finish the pinny. She was upstairs doing the birthday card while I did the last bit of sewing. She came down as I was going to photograph it for the blog and decided that she wanted to help me with it. She fussed the dress for me. And also asked for a photograph of her with the dress and the card that she had done.

The party was a magician/entertainer. Katie refused point blank to go in the room for the first 30 minutes. The next 30 minutes she sat right up to the wall by the door, on my knee. She wasnt convinced about joining the children for party tea but did eventually sit with a couple of her friends. She takes her time with food often, so she was still munching when the second part got going. I could see her watching from her seat. She finished and asked to go sit down. Within not many minutes, she was laughing away. She loved the live bunny, enjoyed the hokey cokey, and queued nicely to get a balloon animal. However she burst into tears and ran away when the man dared to hand it to her. I do love her.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.