Garden

If there's one thing I miss about the old cottage it's the views: from the kitchen sink out to The Trees; the valley and hills from my bedroom window; and, particularly, from the porch, where I'd sit in the mornings wearing a fleece, drinking a very large mug of coffee.

The new cottage has a view across the rooftops of Kirkby Lonsdale from the upper floors but just this from the kitchen. I was going to title this post 'Before' but actually that would rather overstate my current plans for doing something about the garden.

I mean, I think it could be beautiful but, at the age of 48, as far as gardening is concerned, I've never done anything more than mow the lawn (a chore that, thankfully, doesn't need doing here!). Consequently, I've no idea where to start. What I might do is buy a table, chairs, barbecue and fire pit. That would be a good start (and, more than likely, finish).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.