granpabear

By granpabear

THE HEDGE ROW

Some people who come in the house notice the bar stools first. Others never even see them. I must admit that they are a bit outside the box.
The bar had to be high to hide the messy kitchen, and to fit a little microwave on the counter behind. So the stools had to be tall.
In the pile of sticks from the house full of sticks were these. They are Arbor Vita. A Cedar family bush, tall and skinny, used to make hedge rows in landscaping. They were already completely denuded of their bark. I assume this was done when they were green. That would be tedious then, impossible when dry. And guess what they were the perfect height! I left the two back legs whole as much as possible, to form the backrests, used the cross piece to help hold the branches in place, and tied some together with raw hide.
I was a bit apprehensive about the grandkids on these, but now they crawl all over them without any problems.
Shortly after they were done, I met a neighbor lady down by the creek. She wanted to see inside the house. I agreed cause I kinda like to show it. Oh, you noticed! Anyway she was packing a cold beer and was quite tipsy. I warned her not to sit in the bar stools, but she insisted. We were chatting when she felt the urge to go to the bathroom, leaped off, fell flat on her butt. In the process she knocked one stool over and broke one of the branches. She bounced off the floor onto her feet, and slurred, "It's my fault, and I'll pay for it!"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.