A Monkey's Tale

By MonkeyWithAView

Two Nationals. One Day.

1. The Grand National.

2. The National Trust.


We couldn't resist a little flutter on The horse race. The bookies was predictably busy this morning but we placed our money on the runners we most fancied, & then there was nothing more to do but let fate decide.

Well, fate & go to the medieval moated castle at Bodiam, near Robertsbridge, of course. It's such a cool 14th-century castle & fascinating to see the moat, it's huge stone walls topped by crenellations & the ruined interior castle grounds. We had a lovely meander round & it must be twenty or more years since I first visited with my parents. There was actually a young boy running around today, with a Thomas the Tank Engine rucksack, who I believe I heard being called Oliver. Spooky.

Not that I knew it at the time, but the man pictured above through the window later on the day proceeded to squash me with his chair, as we sat & enjoyed our cream tea in the café. Charming! Last time I take his picture.

As it turned out, our 7 horses didn't place. That's luck for you. We did have a mad 2 minutes in the car though, with much cheering & hand waiving, listening to the final 4 furlongs, so it wasn't completely wasted.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.