Oh My Days!

By lovelupins17

Bingley North Bog

Between the canal by the five rise locks in Bingley and the newish (2003) Bingley bypass road lies Bingley North Bog - you can easily walk past it and not notice it, being transfixed by the locks and the canal, but it's a pretty place with a rich wildlife habitat. There's also a South Bog - between the canal and the River Aire where tree protesters set up camp in the late 90s to save the Bogs and trees from the planned Bingley bypass. I believe Swampy was there for a while (remember him?). I worked at a dental practice in Bingley at that time and we had a guy arrive for treatment, and when I asked him for his address he said he lived in a tree…. what do you do??? Anyway, the bypass was built and both bogs are still really quite boggy although I'm not sure they are as rich as they were! There is also a rumour that a steam engine and 3 carriages disappeared in the bog in the 1840s whilst the train line was being built - but I think that's a bit of a tall story! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.