Coffee Spoons

By MissMarj

All The World's A Stage

I was at the King's Theatre for the Edinburgh Gilbert And Sullivan Society production of Princess Ida. Its the first time I've been in since the refurbishment and I'm pleased to report the new seats are very comfortable. They were a bit saggy and springy before.

There's also this eye-catching painting on the ceiling, which contains the famous Shakespeare quotation this blip title comes from.

Princess Ida was very enjoyable, and the gender issues it raises seemed somehow both terribly old fashioned and terribly relevant at the same time. It's basically a battle of the sexes story but the strong independent heroine ends up capitulating and marrying the prince in the end anyway. With a bit of tweaking to include a bit more wooing to make the end more plausible it could be the plot of a modern rom-com. It's not one that's performed very often so I'm glad I got to see it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.