Emma D's diary

By EmmaDrabble

At Ross: Joining the regatta.....

Watching Ross rowing club come in looks like someone should be shouting numbers on a boating lake. Number 3 come in please!

I guess that Ross Rowing club is a finely tuned machine. I suppose it has to be with so many drivers of a matchstick of a boat. I am sure that it really isn't as I describe. You see I know rowing, very briefly with my time with the tidal rowers of Scarborough Rowing club and the couple of times I went out with them. They are a typical northern, friendly lot. Its not "rowing" to them, well perhaps it is. Perhaps the team effort in tidal rowing is more so apparent since the vessel is precariously navigating tidal currents and swells. There is a brutal, northern honesty... a saying it as it is.

I wonder where the change in behaviour between river rowers and tidal rowers became apparent. The airs and graces, the cream teas, the champagne, I guess the links to private schooling and the Oxford and Cambridge boat races. What I do know is, that which ever rowing team you pick, your only as strong as your team members, and some of the best team members came form humble beginnings. Perhaps river and tidal rowers do cross oars.... I hope so........x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.