Igor

By Igor

Shakespeare Challenge: (Mr) Majestic

Mr Majestic - The King (B.B)

The King is in his Counting House
but the band don’t play for money
it’s that shimmering vibrato
sweet and smooth as honey


I don’t like having to explain a photograph, but this time perhaps it’s necessary, because what I’m trying to do may not be obvious. (Probably not at all ..)

This is a photo of a young B.B.King. I ‘re-imagined’ it through the slats of a venetian blind to give the impression of a man in the shadows - not yet able to step into the limelight. When this photo was taken he was not allowed to play to unsegregated audiences. I then squirted it through a software effect called ‘cool tones’ - which I thought was rather appropriate given the subject.

As it’s also Poem-a-day challenge (thanks Scribbler) and I missed one yesterday (and will probably again tomorrow) I’ve managed two today with a music theme.

The other 5th Beatle

The Beatles were my favourite
When I was of that age
Each LP (that’s long player)
Cost half my weekly wage

Carefully on the Dansette
Anticipate the song
“And tonight on broomstick …”
Then I’d sing along

I always wanted to be John
Rarely one of the others
(and when I wasn’t being him
- I’d be the Ev’ley Brothers)

I found the broomstick easier
To play than my guitar
And ’cos I didn’t practice much
I didn’t get that far

I’d have a go at ‘Three Blind Mice’
But two chords weren’t enough
For ‘Lady Madonna’
And all their other stuff

It wasn’t till my Forties
I finally found a way
To buy myself a real guitar
Cost half my monthly pay

Months and months of practice
Anticipate the day
‘Hang on guys I’m coming’
But they’ve since gone away

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.