A desirable summer cottage?

As it was such a fabulous sunny day I decided to return home from Turriff via the scenic route which took me across to the Cairngorm National Park, into Braemar and finally through Glen Shee. As I made my way towards Braemar my TomTom navigation system took me away from the main road and off on a superb narrow road with passing places only. The road wound higher and higher up into the mountains which unfolded before me and at the side of me - everywhere I looked the hillside was brown with heather, some of which was being burned off in the distance. I spied this cottage down on my right and thought it was in such a fabulous position. Although high up in the mountains it nestled in a sheltered hung valley with a small stream burbling past, but it was miles away from any other sign of habitation. Maybe it had been a shepherd's cottage at one time, or a croft, but now it was definitely abandoned. I would love to know of its past.

I admit to feeling a bit deflated when i finally drove down into the lowlands beyond Glenshee and continued the last part of my journey home. I feel so privileged on days like this to be living where i do.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.