The fox

The foxes are determined to dig under Gran's garage despite her best attempts to stop them. Today I'm on fox patrol to make sure the defences are still intact. I'm not quite sure, though, what I'll do if I actually find a fox ... running away sounds like a sensible option!


"When I got home one evening
to my cosy living room
I found a squirrel at my table
and a hedgehog with a broom.

A fox switched on the hoover,
beat my doormat with his tail,
while the squirrel did the kitchen
with a mophead and a pail.

The squirrel was all prickly
and the hedgehog had a tail,
the fox was dressed in tartan
while her coat hung on a nail.

The squirrel used the pulley
as trapeze, from side to side;
the fox slid down the banister,
the hedgehog did a glide.

My floor was very shiny
and everything was clean,
then suddenly I woke up
and found it was a dream!"

(Christine De Luca - A Little Nap Rap)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.