feet well travelled

By feettravelled

Vivid.

I loved these fresh spring colours.
I spent a long time in the park today with a little boy I was looking after.
Playing in the park was lovely. He was a totally different little boy.
Before the park tho, I had been dragged round town looking at Lego and xbox/playstation games and various other boy/techy things which was totally out of my comfort zone.

I felt so overwhelmed by all the choice and selection for this 8 year old and also so suprised at how much he knew about the games and what was coming out next etc. He was TRANSFIXED with these games and getting more and more and I just was glad I wasnt his mother with the pressure of getting him these things. He literally wanted everything. and how could I blame him! its all there luring him in to want more.

It made me reflect on how I want my kids to be (when I have them) brought up and the real challenges that parents face in general but especially the ones in this generation with ipad and TV and xboxes grabbing their childrens childhood. What happened to playbough, baking, playing with simple toys, reading books, riding real bikes and getting dirty outside! Those are my childhood memories plus many more!

My aim today was to have no screen time...! it almost came on during breakfast. Questions about his lego distracted this.
Then he wanted me to download games onto my phone so he could play on them on the bus! but we managed it!

Kudos to full time parents.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.