Edgey

By Edgey

Bill McLaren

I was looking for a Blip this morning, so went to Wilton Park In Hawick to take some shots. I got a lot of possible blips but being a Saturday how could I not blip this gentleman?
Bill McLaren the much loved rugby commentator died in January 2010 after nearly 50 years of commentating at the grand age of 86.
This memorial bust of him is in Wilton Park, Hawick, Scottish Borders and is definitely one of the best busts I have seen. Many of us here on Blip grew up hearing Bills commenting on tv, for me I first heard him on Grandstand in the 1970's commentating on a Scotland v England match. He had an undeniable voice theres no doubt about that!
Bill retired in 2002 and is the first non international to be added to the Rugby International Hall Of Fame.
To hear Bills unmistakable voice click here .
Todays track has to be this

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.