Chorley

First day of the Easter holidays - in our neck of the woods, anyway - so Abi and I celebrated by having breakfast at the bakery, which does the best full English in Kirkby Lonsdale at the moment. After that, we went back to the cottage where I had to do a bit of work and Abi stuck her nose into her Kindle.

In the afternoon, having collected Dan from his sleepover, we drove down to Chorley where the Minx was running one of her Kids' Art Room sessions, this time for lino cutting. Upon arrival I was immediately dispatched to buy plasters - "just in case" - although Dan and Abi didn't seem too put off by this unanticipated level of artistic hazard.

That chore run, I found I was, happily, left to my own devices. No one was emailing or calling me, so I decided to find a barbers and get a long overdue haircut. This proved far more straightforward than I'd imagined: I found a barber's just 'round the corner, there was only one person ahead of me, so I was in the chair and back outside, freshly shorn, in less than ten minutes. A quick look in a suitably unwashed shop window reassured me that I looked enough like a badly aged Captain America to satisfy my grooming needs and I wandered into town with a spring in my step and a whistle on my lips.

I tried a couple of coffee shops, ending up in Costa where, delightfully, the only chair free was next to Kirsty, whose daughter was also at the Kids' Art Room. We had a nice chat while she tried in vain to get back to her book and then it was time to pick up the kids and go to the ice cream shop. I'd been planning to photograph the ice creams but then I saw this excellent lamp post.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.