Hands Assignment2

Most of us are totally dependant on our hands. I am always in awe of people who cope in life without. There are also thousands of people whose hands are not only used for the everyday things but whose hands enable them to communicate and to see .
I taught visually impaired pupils for many years. They accessed all their material through braille particularly before the new technology which exists today. I watched in wonder at the speed at which a seven year old could brush lightly across a page and read.
My grand daughter went to a child minder whose friend is profoundly deaf. Her hands are her ears and voice.
My three year old grandaughter can communicate with her but will only show us the occasional sign. "That's for Deanna" she says.
This is a blip of a picture I took some years ago in the lake district. It is carved from a fallen tree .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.